New Practitioner Experience (NPX) Committee

What is NPX Committee?

NPX is an automatic and free, Ohio Pharmacists Association (OPA) member benefit that provides leadership, advocacy, networking and practice development opportunities to pharmacists in their first 7 years of practice. Not a member? Not a problem. 

Join OPA Today!


To be the launch pad for all new practitioners to achieve personal and professional growth and success.


The mission of the OPA New Practitioner Experience (NPX) Committee is to serve as a catalyst for the transition from student to pharmacist by providing new practitioners the opportunity to achieve personal and professional growth and success. This will be accomplished through leadership, advocacy, networking and practice development opportunities.


NPX Advisory Team 2020-2021



Kristine (Mason) Cline, PharmD, MS
Assistant Professor at The Ohio State University



Megan (Johnson) Rees, PharmD
Clinical Specialty Pharmacist with Cooper Cancer Center



Marilee Clemons, PharmD
Lead Clinical Pharmacist, University of Toledo General Internal Medicine and Lecturer, University of Toledo College of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences



Kay Hoopes, PharmD
Clinical Pharmacy Specialist at the Chillicothe VA Medical Center




Dustin Carneal, PharmD
Clinical Pharmacy Specialist, Clinical Lead, and Pharmacy Internship Coordinator at Crystal Clinic Orthopaedic Center

Launchpad Coordinator

Launchpad Coordinator

Megan Stephan, PharmD
PGY-1 Ambulatory Care Residency with ONU Healthwise

NPX Event Recap: 2020 Emerging Pharmacy Leaders Conference

This past January, OPA hosted the Emerging Pharmacy Leaders Conference. This conference is conducted every two years to identify emerging leaders, enhance leadership skills of ELC 2020 1the participants, and provide motivation to seek greater awareness and involvement in issues confronting the profession and healthcare. Attendees are nominated by individuals who identified leadership qualities. Seventeen attendees were invited to participate in this year’s Conference.

OPA President Brigid Groves presented Jumping into Association Leadership. Leadership Pearls: Finding Your Personal and Professional WHY was presented by OPA Treasurer Tim Ulbrich. Don Bennett, OPA past president and current member of the OPF Board of Trustees, presented Leading from Where You Are. OPA Executive Director Ernie Boyd closed the program with Leadership: How You Can Make an Impact. New Practitioner Experience (NPX) Advisory Committee Chair Dana Wilkerson spoke to the group on NPX: Home for Emerging Leaders. Throughout the day, attendees interacted with each other to complete activities and learn from one another.

Following the Conference, the pharmacists gathered at Gordon Biersch Brewery Restaurant in the downtown Arena District before a Columbus Blue Jackets Hockey game with fellow NPX members. The Columbus Blue Jackets defeated the New Jersey Devils in an exciting game.

This year’s Emerging Pharmacy Leaders Conference was a success! Special thanks goes to Kroger Health for support of the Conference lunch and breaks.

2020 Emerging Leaders

Carly Adams, Family Health Services
Addie Brown, Nationwide Children’s Hospital
Corey Coffey, Ohio State UniversityELC 2020 2
Kevin Day, Day’s Miami Heights Pharmacy
Vyishali Dharbhamalla, OPA
Akesha Edwards, University of Findlay
Jason Guy, University of Findlay
Austin Hilverding, Shrivers Pharmacy
Greg Kramp, Rite Aid
Anthony Menches, Kroger
Kayla Petkus, Nationwide Children’s Hospital
Brianne Porter, Ohio State University
Kelsey Schmuhl, Ohio State University
Myriam Shaw Ojeda, OPA
Alexander Swick, Nationwide Children’s Hospital
Trey Tietz, Cleveland Clinic
Samantha Woods, Hopewell Health Centers



NPX Launchpad Newsletter

Fall 2020 Newsletter

Winter 2020 Newsletter

Fall 2019 Newsletter

Summer 2019 Newsletter

 NPX Newsletter Archives

Help us write the next newsletter! Articles may be submitted for Practitioner Profile, Ohio Days or A Taste of Our Kitchen. Have an idea for another article relevant to new practitioners?  You can submit that as well! Articles should be submitted in a Word document to Megan Stephan at Photographs for articles should be submitted separately for higher quality. Thank you!