Forgot Login/Password?
Complete Story

OPA members named to Ohio Medical Marijuana Advisory Committee!

With passage of HB 523, Ohio's medical marijuana law that is now in effect, the state is tasked with creating a regulatory structure so that the drug is ready to be distributed to patients legally allowed to obtain it in 2018.

While OPA was vocal in our opposition to the law, the fact is that it has passed, and we have vowed to work to ensure the medical marijuana is as legitimate, appropriate, and as safe as possible for Ohioans.

OPA has launched a special Medical Marijuana Task Force to make suggestions to improve the law, offer perspective on the regulatory process, and to work to properly educate pharmacists and patients about the drug.

While the Ohio Board of Pharmacy, Ohio State Medical Board, and Department of Commerce are ultimately in charge of setting up the regulations, they will be consulting with the newly created Ohio Medical Marijuana Advisory Committee.

We are pleased to announce that of the two committee slots that are slated for pharmacists, both positions will be filled by OPA members, Curtis Passafume and Stephanie Abel

Governor Kasich also named Passafume as the chairman of the committee.

Stephanie Abel, R.Ph., PharmD, BCPS, is Clinical Pharmacy Specialist for the Ohio State University James Cancer Center.

Curt Passafume, R.Ph., MBA, is the System Vice President for OhioHealth Pharmacy Services and also is a member of the Ohio State Board of Pharmacy.

We would like to thank Governor Kasich for choosing these well-qualified candidates, and we look forward to the advisory committee's work.

For more information about the Ohio Medical Marijuana Control Program, visit 

Get OPA Events via RSS


 March 2017 
April 21-23, 2017

139th OPA Annual Conference & Trade Show

Greater Columbus Convention Center, Columbus, OH

May 11, 2017

Pharmacy Technician Education Seminar

Makoy Center, 5462 Center Street, Hilliard, OH 43026

May 23, 2017

Pharmacist Training Program for Immunizations

OPA Office - 2674 Federated Blvd, Columbus, OH 43235

May 23, 2017

Pharmacist Training Program for Immunizations

OPA Office - 2674 Federated Blvd, Columbus, OH 43235

June 20, 2017

Live Webinar: Required OSHA Training for Immunizing Pharmacists