Forgot Login/Password?
Complete Story

OPA Awards and Leadership Nomination Solicitations

HURRY! October 8, 2004 is the nomination deadline.


$$LinkToForm19,4 for Award Nomination Form.
$$LinkToForm20,4 for OPA Election Nomination Form.

Hurry! October 8, 2004 is the deadline to nominate candidates for awards and leadership bositions in the Ohio Pharmacists Association. Information and criteria for both types of nominations follow below.

Awards Solicitation
OPA will recognize the accomplishments of members throughout the state at the 127th Annual Conference, April 15-17, 2005, in Columbus. Any OPA member may nominate any eligible member for the awards.

Innovative Pharmacy Practice Award
This award recognizes a pharmacist who has demonstrated innovative pharmacy practice resulting in improved patient care, emphasizing the very important role that pharmacy has in providing patient counseling. Sponsored by a grant from Elan Biopharmaceuticals under the auspices of NCSPAE, the award is a limited edition framed print of a pharmacist providing patient counseling, as well as a specially struck medallion. In addition, OPA displays recipients’ names in the OPA office.

Bowl of Hygeia Award
The Bowl of Hygeia Award was established by Wyeth
Pharmaceuticals to honor pharmacists who have contributed to the progress of their communities. Criteria include:
1. pharmacist licensed in the State of Ohio;
2. recipient must be living;
3. recipient must not be previous recipient of the award;
4. recipient must not be currently serving, nor has he/she served within the immediate past two years as an officer of the Association in other than an ex officio capacity or its awards committee;
5. recipient must have compiled an outstanding record of community service, which apart from his/her specific identification as a pharmacist, reflects well on the profession.

Young Pharmacist of the Year
The goal of the Pharmacists Mutual Young Pharmacist of the Year Award is to encourage newer pharmacists to participate in association and community activities. Criteria include:
1. entry degree in pharmacy received less than nine years ago;
2. licensed to practice in the State of Ohio;
3. member of OPA;
4. participation in national pharmacy Associations, professional programs, and/or community service.

OPA Good Government Award
This award recognizes a pharmacist member of the Ohio Pharmacists Association who has made major contributions to the public through government and/or legislative service/education at the local, state or national level. This activity must have raised pharmacists’ awareness of legislative issues impacting the profession, and impacting the passage of favorable legislation for pharmacy.

OPA Pharmacist Public Relations Award
This award recognizes a pharmacist member of the Ohio Pharmacists Association who has made major contributions to the public through continuous service to the community in public relations activities for the profession of pharmacy. This may be accomplished through television, radio, newsprint or community presentations on careers in pharmacy, poison prevention, medication awareness, etc.
$$LinkToForm19,4 for Award Nomination Form.

Consider a position on OPA’s 2004 ballot. Leadership in OPA will afford you the opportunity to contribute to the planning process in moving Ohio pharmacy forward, to develop skills that will benefit you professionally and personally, to meet and exchange ideas with innovators in the profession, and to feel a sense of accomplishment. Exciting things are happening with the practice of pharmacy. Be a part of it!

Vice President. The Vice President is responsible for assuming the duties of the President in the absence of the President and the President-Elect. He/she shall be a voting member of the Executive Committee and the Board of Trustees. The Vice President is elected for a term of one year. Upon the election of his successor, the Vice President shall assume the office of President-Elect for one year, and then the office of President for a one-year term.

Districts 3,4,6,7,8,12,13, and 14 will be electing one trustee each to serve 2005-2007 terms on the Board of Trustees, which meets four times per year. The districts are listed below with their corresponding counties.
District 3: Allen, Auglaize, Hancock, Hardin, Logan, Marion, Mercer, Paulding, Putnam, Shelby, VanWert, Wyandot
District 4: Butler, Clinton, Darke, Preble, Warren
District 6: Clermont, Hamilton
District 7: Adams, Brown, Fayette, Gallia, Highland, Hocking, Jackson, Lawrence, Pickaway, Pike, Ross, Scioto, Vinton
District 8: Athens, Belmont, Guernsey, Harrison, Jefferson, Meigs, Monroe, Morgan, Noble, Washington
District 12: Carroll, Holmes, Stark, Tuscarawas, Wayne
District 13: Cuyahoga
District 14: Ashtabula, Columbiana, Geauga, Lake, Mahoning, Trumbull

Any OPA active member may nominate himself/herself or any other OPA active member. All OPA members will vote for officers, and District Trustees will be elected by members of their individual districts.
Candidate photos and biographical sketches will be included in an upcoming issue of the Ohio Pharmacist journal. Successful candidates will be installed at the 127th Annual Conference, April 15-17, 2005 in Columbus.

$$LinkToForm20,4 for OPA Election Nomination Form.

Printer-Friendly Version

Get OPA Events via RSS


 November 2018 
December 4, 2018

Pharmacist Legislative Day 2018

December 7, 2018

Pharmacist Training Program for Long-Acting Injectables

OPA Office - 2674 Federated Blvd, Columbus, OH 43235

February 13, 2019

APhA's Delivering MTM Services Certificate Training Program for Pharmacists

OPA Office- 2674 Federated Blvd, Columbus, OH 43235

March 6, 2019

APhA's Diabetes Care Certificate Training Program for Pharmacists

OPA Office, 2674 Federated Blvd, Columbus, OH 43235

April 12-14, 2019

141st OPA Annual Conference & Trade Show

Greater Columbus Convention Center, Columbus, OH